![]() |
|
WTVN Radio • Columbus, Ohio • Sunday morning from 8 until 9 |
|
| Home
• Previous
page Who's in the corner? |
Is this information useful? If so, consider |
| |
Sunday, May 25, 2003 |
Random thought:
|
Microsoft sending screen savers? Nope.Thursday morning I finally received the message I've been waiting for. The message claimed to be from "support@microsoft.com" and promised a "Cool screen saver." The message told me that all the information was in the attached file. Trouble was, there was no attached file. Had there been an attached file, it would have contained a worm. But the mental midget who created this variant wound up shooting blanks. I can think of several reasons why something this stupid shouldn't work.
Unfortunately, I can also think of at least as many reasons why something this stupid will work.
Rule #1: Never, ever open an attachment from anyone if you're
not expecting it -- even if the message is from someone you know. If you're in doubt, take a look at the message's routing headers to see where the message really came from. Remember, when you look at the headers, that the origin is at the bottom and your server's information will be near the top. For example, here's the header from the message I received on Thursday morning: Return-path: <support@microsoft.com>
Envelope-to: xxx@xxx.com
Delivery-date: Thu, 22 May 2003 07:10:29 -0400
Received: from xxx.com ([xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx] helo=xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx)
by hazel.xxxxxx.com with esmtp (Exim 3.36 #1)
id 19Inxs-0005BW-00
for xxx@xxx.com; Thu, 22 May 2003 07:10:28 -0400
Received: from adrem.krakow.pol.pl ([195.116.22.154] helo=ANNA)
by hazel.xxxxxx.com with esmtp (Exim 3.36 #1)
id 19Inml-000517-00
for wtvn@blinn.com; Thu, 22 May 2003 06:59:00 -0400
From: <support@microsoft.com>
Subject: Cool screensaver
Date: Thu, 22 May 2003 12:59:00 +0200
Importance: Normal
X-Mailer: Microsoft Outlook Express 6.00.2600.0000
I've obscured some information here because I don't care to share it with the world, but let's take a look at some of the hints that tell me this is not really a message from Microsoft. We're starting at the bottom and working our way up. X-Mailer: Microsoft Outlook Express 6.00.2600.0000 - Would Microsoft support use Outlook Express? I doubt it; they would use Outlook. For messages to a large number of people (presumably this would be in that category) the tool of choice (even at Microsoft) would not be any version of Outlook. Date: Thu, 22 May 2003 12:59:00 +0200 - The last time I checked, Microsoft was still in Redmond, Washington, and that's in the Pacific time zone (GMT minus 8) and not in a time zone that's 2 hours ahead of GMT. Received: from adrem.krakow.pol.pl ([195.116.22.154] helo=ANNA) - If this is really a message from Microsoft, why are they using an SMTP server in Krakow, Poland? And the IP address 195.116.22.154 belongs to RIPE Network Coordination Centre in Amsterdam, Netherlands, a registrar. The address is assigned to "Polska Online", apparently a dial-up Internet service provider in Poland. Further evidence that the person who sent this worm (or attempted to) isn't too bright: No attempt was made to disguise the actual origin of the message. Meet the Palyh wormMessages reported so far carry these subject lines: Your Password, Screensaver, Re: Movie, Your details, Approved (Ref: 38446-263), Re: Approved (Ref: 3394-65467), Cool screensaver, Re: My details, Re: My application, Re: Movie. The message is always the same: "All information is in attached file." A message like that should stand out like a day-glow orange elephant on the lawn of the White House. It does everything but scream, "Open me and your computer will be converted to toast!" What more could you want? "All information is in the attached file" indeed. Would any thinking person at any hardware or software company send such a message? (That was a rhetorical question, but the answer is "No!") What happens if you open it? Palyh copies itself to the Registry and installs itself so that it will start whenever Windows starts. Then it starts seeking out open network shares. It at least some cases, Palyh has been reported to have attempted to connect to a website where it attempts to download malicious code. Of course, no worm would be complete without code to seek out e-mail addresses and mail itself to every address it can find. The worm inspects files with these extensions: wab, dbx, htm, html, eml, and txt. This worm affects all Windows systems (except for Windows version 3 or older). Mac, OS/2, Unix, and Linux users are safe from this one. Symantec is spamming you? Nope.Have you received offers for Norton Antivirus "90% off"? If not, count yourself among the lucky few. At least a dozen of these spams are trapped and destroyed every day by GoodbyeSpam. I know because I like to glance at the trash before dumping it. Are these spams from Symantec? In a word, NO. Anyone who thinks an offer like this comes from Symantec should consider the logic of such an offer. Would any business that depends on distributors and retailers to sell its products suddenly decide that it's a good idea to sell it's product at a 90% discount -- far below the price that even the largest distributors get? Can any company afford to sell its products at a 90% discount? Even if a company could sell its products at a 90% discount, why would it want to do that? Symantec cannot sell product at a 90% discount if it hopes to be able to continue research and development efforts. If it hopes to provide support for existing customers. If it wants to continue to pay its 4000 employees.
In other words, these "offers" are nothing more than spam from thieves. If you decide to buy from a spammer, one of three things will happen:
Symantec is concerned because many people think these spams are from Symantec or condoned by Symantec. And those who fall for the offer often blame Symantec when something goes wrong. I spoke with Symantec's director of worldwide security, William Plante, who's
concerned that people will believe offers such as these really are coming
from Symantec ... Remember last December
when
|