Spammers ...
... want your money and they'll do anything to get it. They'll lie. They'll send infected messages with worms and viruses designed to take over your computer. They'll tell you that your credit card is being charged for "kiddie porn" that's on its way to your address. They'll ask you to give them enough information that they can steal your identity.
Here are just a few spams that I've selected at random. If you ever think of buying something offered by a spam, consider that most of these creeps won't even tell you where they are.
The Canadian "pharmacy" that happens to be in China
These guys offer you prescription drugs without having to bother with a prescription. They say they're in Canada, but Canada seems to have expanded its borders because the website is in Liaoning, China.
Here's the ad from the "pharmacy". It doesn't specifically say that it's in Canada, but that's certainly what you're supposed to think.
So where is the pharmacy? You can get a decent hint by taking a look at the HTML code behind the spam:

So now maybe you're wondering who is the registered owner of "dancedde.com". The fact that it's a com domain does not mean that it's in the United States, as you can see from the registry record at the right.
Oh, and by the way -- 126.com is one of the most prolific spammers on the planet.
Ebay moves to Thailand?
Oh no! My Ebay account has been blocked! I'd better take care of this fast!
The message (actually, 6 copies of the message) was in my e-mail inbox. The 6 copies suggested fraud immediately. A quick look at the "from" line confirmed it. Register.com is a domain registrar. Ebay is not associated with Register and does not send messages from Register. It's easy enough to forge the return address, so why did these bozos choose "Register" instead of "Ebay"?
I could fill out the form in the e-mail, but it asks for the CW2 code from the back of the card and it wants the PIN. (Never, never, never give your PIN to anyone. Period.) But let's see where the suggested link goes. Hmmmm. This would take me to "darkprofits.com" -- doesn't sound like a place I want to go. And darkprofits.com is in ...
(CLICK IMAGE FOR LARGER VIEW)
... Bankok, Thailand. But something tells me that the real Ebay is still in San Jose.
But these bunko artists might be a little smarter than some we've seen before. See all the links at the top of the message? They all go to Ebay's site. That could be enough to fool some gullible receivers.
(CLICK IMAGE FOR LARGER VIEW)
Then I scrolled down a little further and found misspelled words and a complimentary close that was clearly not written by a native speaker of US English.
 When my mouse cursor moved over the Ebay logo, I noticed that the graphic contained a link. The link goes to "shadowcrew.com" -- another place that's probably a dark alley that's to be avoided. And "shadowcrew.com" is located in ...
... Russia.
... but look. While the server may be in Russia, the domain is registered to a concern in Miami. The domain appears to have been taken down because a traceroute shows "no such host".
02/05/04 08:47:02 Fast traceroute shadowcrew.com
Trace shadowcrew.com failed, no such host
Do I have any takers on a bet that the address provided with the registration doesn't exist, is a mail drop, or corresponds with the billing address of a stolen credit card?
Do I need this car loan?
Here's a spam that offers me an auto loan and the address is "jwqqq.com". Odd domain name, no? Yes, I know it says we're about to go to "CarLoanProvider.com", but that's not what the address is. CarLoanProvider.com actually exist and may be legitimate, but we're about to go to "jwqqq.com" and it's located in ...
(CLICK IMAGE FOR LARGER VIEW)
... Hong Kong, China. Yeah, I'm sure that a lot of financial institutions in China provide auto loans to people in the US. So let's see what these guys have to offer.

I'm not going to give them valid information, of course.
Less than ONE SECOND after I submitted the form, I learned that I have been "pre-approved" for the a credit card, too. This must be my lucky day. I can also have $500 in my account tomorrow, cancel all my debt, get a free cell phone and more. I just can't believe my luck! I'd really like to have a new credit card.
(CLICK IMAGE FOR LARGER VIEW)
Well, here we are. It must be real because the site says it "uses secure technology." But the little key in the lower right corner isn't illuminated. You don't suppose these folks would be lying to me, do you?
Let's continue along. I'll fill out the form, but not with my information.
(CLICK IMAGE FOR LARGER VIEW)
Now they want some additional information. And let's see -- they're going to give me $150 if I pay them $149.95. So I'll make a nickel. If I can really use the card to make purchases at stores. Some of these "credit cards" may be used only in stores owned by the issuing company, stores that price the goods they sell at double or triple what you'd pay in a real store.
And there's another panel below this one ...
... where they want my bank checking or savings account information. They already have asked for my mother's maiden name, my Social Security Number, and everything else they might need to steal my identity.
Is this one of those useless "prepaid" "credit" cards or just another identity-theft con game? I can't tell without going further and I'm certainly not going any further, even with fake information.
Let us know what you think about this program! Write to:
Bill Blinn --
(wtvn@blinn.com still works)
Joe Bradley -- |